关于滑石粉和卵巢癌的研究
探索科学
关于滑石粉和卵巢癌的研究
护士健康研究 (NHS) 是有史以来规模最大的女性健康研究。这项由美国政府资助的定群研究深入调查了自 1976 年以来女性主要慢性疾病的危险因素。

The Nurses' Health Study

Showed no overall increase

总体并未增加
24
year study
of
78,630
Women
31,789
used talc
妇女健康倡议 (WHI) 由美国国立卫生研究院于 1991 年创立,旨在研究绝经后妇女的健康。这个定群研究项目调查了很多问题,包括激素疗法与乳腺癌之间的关系,以及饮食对癌症和心脏病的影响。

妇女健康倡议研究

Showed no overall increase

总体并未增加
12
year study
of
61,576
women
32,219
used talc
姐妹研究于 2003 至 2009 年在美国国家卫生研究院、国家环境健康科学研究所的支持下进行,是寻找乳腺癌病因的一项具有里程碑意义的研究工作。

姐妹研究

Showed no overall increase

总体并未增加
6
year study
of
41,654
women
5,735
used talc

其他研究

许多大型前瞻性研究并未发现卵巢癌与使用滑石粉之间存在统计学联系,尽管一些(但不是全部)病例对照研究确实表明两者之间存在微弱的统计学联系。病例对照研究是以具有特定疾病史的人群为病例,通过提问,了解各种可能的危险因素。这些危险因素可能包括过去使用的某些产品。某些研究发现存在微弱统计学联系的一个可能原因是,因“回忆偏倚”而高估了真正的关联性。回忆偏倚是指患有某种疾病的人比未患病的人更可能高估他们对相关危险因素的暴露程度。In these studies, women who know they have ovarian cancer will try hard to remember anything that might be important to explain why they got this terrible disease, which can artificially make it appear that women with cancer used more talcum powder.8

滑石粉和间皮瘤的研究
间皮瘤是一种罕见的癌症,包括几种类型。石棉接触与某些类型的间皮瘤之间存在关联。石棉是一种天然矿物质,存在于周围环境中,我们呼吸的空气中、饮用水中、土壤中以及一些食物中都存在少量石棉纤维。

目前并无可靠的科学研究表明吸入化妆品级滑石粉会导致间皮瘤。
对数千名因开采和研磨滑石粉而每天接触滑石粉的工人的研究显示,并无工人患上间皮瘤。1976 年,科学家对强生公司使用的一座意大利化妆品级滑石矿的矿工和磨工进行了研究。

对矿工和磨工的研究

Found

0

Cases of Mesothelioma
1,992
miners and millers exposed to talc daily
研究超过
38
years

Talc is used to reduce fluid accumulation in lungs

在医疗界,一种称为胸膜固定术的医疗程序可帮助将肺粘在胸壁上,以让萎陷肺保持张开或防止肺部积液。

在某些情况下,医生会将滑石粉直接注入肺内层,以防止发生积液。大规模的患者报告显示,在数十年里进行过这项手术的数百名患者中,无任何人患上间皮瘤。

Found

0

cases of mesothelioma
more than
300
patients
研究超过
14-40
years
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

Studies on Talc and Ovarian Cancer
Explore the Science
Studies on Talc and Ovarian Cancer
The Nurses’ Health Study (NHS) is the largest women’s health study ever conducted. This U.S. government-funded cohort study has looked into risk factors for major chronic diseases in women since 1976.

The Nurses' Health Study

Showed no overall increase

in the risk of ovarian cancer
24
year study
of
78,630
Women
31,789
used talc
The Women’s Health Initiative (WHI) was established by the U.S. National Institutes of Health in 1991 to study the health of postmenopausal women. Among the many issues this cohort study investigated were the link between hormone therapy and breast cancer, and the effects of diet on cancer and heart disease.

The Women’s Health Initiative Study

Showed no overall increase

in the risk of ovarian cancer
12
year study
of
61,576
women
32,219
used talc
The Sister Study, conducted from 2003-2009 with the support of the National Institutes of Health, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences was a landmark research effort to find the causes of breast cancer.

The Sister Study

Showed no overall increase

in the risk of ovarian cancer
6
year study
of
41,654
women
5,735
used talc

Other Studies

A statistical association between ovarian cancer and powder users is not found in large, prospective studies, although some, but not all, case-control studies do indicate a slight statistical association. Case-control studies are studies where groups of people with a history of a specific disease are asked questions about different possible risk factors. These risk factors can include use of certain products in their past. One potential reason that some have found slight statistical associations is the potential for an overestimation of the true association due to “recall bias.” Recall bias is when people with a disease are more likely to overestimate their exposure to these risk factors than people without that disease. In these studies, women who know they have ovarian cancer will try hard to remember anything that might be important to explain why they got this terrible disease, which can artificially make it appear that women with cancer used more talcum powder.8

Studies of Talc and Mesothelioma
Mesothelioma is a rare form of cancer, of which there are several types. Asbestos exposure has been linked to certain types of mesothelioma. Asbestos is a naturally-occurring mineral that is found in the environment, and small quantities of its fibers are all around us – in the air we breathe, in drinking water, soil and some foods.

There are no sound scientific studies indicating that inhalation of cosmetic talc causes mesothelioma.
There have been several studies of thousands of people who were exposed to talc on a daily basis—through their work mining and milling talc powder. These studies demonstrate that exposure to high levels of talc does not increase a person’s risk of developing mesothelioma.

Studies of Miners & Millers

No increased risk of mesothelioma
2,149
miners and millers exposed to talc daily
studied over
40
years

Talc is used to reduce fluid accumulation in lungs

A medical procedure called pleurodesis helps lungs stick to the chest wall to keep collapsed lungs inflated or prevent fluid from accumulating around the lung.

In some cases, talc is injected directly into the lining of the lungs to prevent fluid accumulation. Large-scale reports of patients show that out of hundreds of patients who had this procedure done over dozens of years, there have been no cases of mesothelioma.

Found

0

cases of mesothelioma
more than
300
patients
studied over
14-40
years