关于滑石粉安全性的真相

滑石粉
安全性的真相


滑石粉是什么

滑石粉是地球上最柔软的矿物——滑石——的精细粉末。滑石粉是一种“惰性”成分,这表示它被皮肤吸收或在皮肤上使用时不会产生化学反应。自古埃及时代以来,滑石粉就一直因其天然的滑爽性、安全性和吸附性而被广泛使用。1

滑石粉

我们的滑石粉来自哪里?

滑石存在于世界各地的岩石矿床中,与许多其他矿物一样被开采。我们的婴儿爽身粉只使用医药级滑石粉。

滑石粉是如何制成的?

滑石从矿床中开采出来之后,会被压碎成颗粒,进行分类并划分等级。然后,我们会将符合我们标准的滑石矿石研磨成粉末,进行粒度测试,并确认其符合强生的纯度要求。

滑石粉是安全的

滑石粉安全性第 1 步

1滑石粉已被人类使用数个世纪。

它是世界上最软的矿物,自古埃及时代以来就一直被人们用于各种场合。2

滑石粉安全性第 2 步

2滑石粉比您想象的更常见。

它存在于我们所吃的食物中,包括口香糖、大米和橄榄油,还存在于我们每天使用的许多产品中(如化妆品、肥皂和止汗剂)。1,2,3

滑石粉安全性第 3 步

3滑石粉是安全的。

科研、临床证据及全球的独立医学专家们近 40 年的研究均表明,滑石粉是安全的。

滑石粉安全性第 4 步

4世界各地的许多独立机构均对滑石粉进行过研究。

美国食品药品监督管理局和美国化妆品成分评估委员会等多个政府和非政府机构均调查了滑石粉的潜在危害,并确认滑石粉是安全的。

滑石粉安全性第 5 步

5滑石粉不会致癌。

美国国家癌症研究所的医师数据查询编辑委员会得出的结论是,无证据证明阴部接触滑石粉与增加卵巢癌风险之间存在关联。

数十年安全验证

由于数十年的科学已屡屡证实滑石粉的安全性,所以我们继续在我们的产品中使用滑石粉。您对我们产品的信任和每日能放心使用是我们肩头的重任。因此,我们在产品中只使用经最新科学研究证明安全无害的成分。

化妆品级滑石粉的安全性不仅受到科研和临床证据的不断证实,更有全球各地医学专家们长达 40 年的研究成果的持续支持。这些支持数据已通过世界各国卫生当局的审查,滑石粉也在全球广泛使用。

尽管滑石粉在消费品中有着悠久的安全使用历史,但也有人质疑使用滑石粉是否会增加人罹患癌症的风险。最近,人们对消费品中使用的滑石粉是否被石棉污染提出了疑问。科学研究并不支持我们的滑石粉产品会致癌的任何说法。

我们非常重视任何关乎我们产品安全性的疑虑与质疑,因此我们对滑石粉进行了深入研究。

成千上万的测试反复证实,我们的消费滑石粉产品不含石棉。我们滑石粉的矿石来源经确认符合我们的严格规范。我们和我们的供应商都会对滑石粉进行例行检测,确保我们的滑石粉不含石棉。除此之外,我们的滑石粉还经过多家独立实验室和大学的检测,证实不含石棉,其中包括 FDA、哈佛大学公共卫生学院和西奈山医院。

强生诉讼

您可能看到过有关控诉强生的婴儿爽身粉会导致卵巢癌或间皮瘤的诉讼的新闻报道。

强生只使用药用级纯滑石粉。我们会对每一批滑石粉进行检测以确保其安全性。对此,我们不是随便说说。您可以去了解相关真相,然后自行判断。

了解更多

探索科学

关于滑石粉和卵巢癌的研究

护士健康研究

护士健康研究 (NHS) 是有史以来规模最大的女性健康研究。这项由美国政府资助的定群研究深入调查了自 1976 年以来女性主要慢性疾病的危险因素。NHS 的研究取得了多项突破,包括帮助发现了女性吸烟与心脏病之间的关系,并推动了乳腺癌激素疗法的开发。

NHS 的滑石粉使用研究包括对 78,630 位女性进行的长达 24 年的随访研究。4,5当被问及是否曾在生殖部位或卫生巾上使用过滑石粉时,其中约 40% 的女性均表示用过,这些女性被归为滑石粉使用者群组。4,5

研究数据显示,滑石粉使用者的卵巢癌总体患病率未有增加,无论她们使用滑石粉的频率如何。直接在身体或卫生用品上使用滑石粉的女性的卵巢癌患病率并无差异。4,5

24 年研究
78,630 位女性
31,789 人使用过滑石粉

患卵巢癌的
风险

总体并未增加

护士健康研究

妇女健康倡议研究

妇女健康倡议 (WHI) 由美国国立卫生研究院于 1991 年创立,旨在研究绝经后妇女的健康。这个定群研究项目调查了很多问题,包括激素疗法与乳腺癌之间的关系,以及饮食对癌症和心脏病的影响。WHI 的滑石粉使用研究包括 61,576 名女性,其中 53% 的女性表示曾在生殖器、卫生巾或子宫帽上使用过滑石粉,有些已使用超过 20 年。参与此项研究的女性于 1993 年至 2012 年间一直接受随访研究。

研究数据显示,使用过滑石粉的女性患卵巢癌的风险并未增加。长期使用滑石粉的女性患病的风险也未增加。6

12 年研究
61,576 位女性
32,219 人使用过滑石粉

患卵巢癌的
风险

总体并未增加

妇女健康倡议研究

姐妹研究

姐妹研究于 2003 至 2009 年在美国国家卫生研究院、国家环境健康科学研究所的支持下进行,是寻找乳腺癌病因的一项具有里程碑意义的研究工作。该研究还包括对研究对象进行分析,以研究滑石粉使用、阴道灌洗和卵巢癌之间的关系。

这项研究在美国和波多黎各招募了 41,654 名年龄在 35 到 74 岁之间的女性,这些女性均有一个被诊断出患有乳腺癌的同父同母或同父异母姐妹,并被问及在过去 12 个月内使用滑石粉的情况。在研究过程中,研究人员并未发现阴部使用滑石粉与后续的卵巢癌诊断存在任何关联。7虽然阴道灌洗在滑石粉使用者群体中更为常见,但姐妹研究发现,与卵巢癌风险增加有关的是阴道灌洗,而非滑石粉。7

6 年研究
41,654 位女性
5,735 人使用过滑石粉

患卵巢癌的
风险

总体并未增加

姐妹研究

其他研究

许多大型前瞻性研究并未发现卵巢癌与使用滑石粉之间存在统计学联系,尽管一些(但不是全部)病例对照研究确实表明两者之间存在微弱的统计学联系。病例对照研究是以具有特定疾病史的人群为病例,通过提问,了解各种可能的危险因素。这些危险因素可能包括过去使用的某些产品。某些研究发现存在微弱统计学联系的一个可能原因是,因“回忆偏倚”而高估了真正的关联性。回忆偏倚是指患有某种疾病的人比未患病的人更可能高估他们对相关危险因素的暴露程度。在这些研究中,知道自己患有卵巢癌的女性会努力去记忆任何可能对解释她们的患病原因十分重要的事情,这可能会使结果看起来好像患癌症的女性使用过更多的滑石粉。8

滑石粉和间皮瘤的研究

间皮瘤是一种罕见的癌症,包括几种类型。石棉接触与某些类型的间皮瘤之间存在关联。石棉是一种天然矿物质,存在于周围环境中,我们呼吸的空气中、饮用水中、土壤中以及一些食物中都存在少量石棉纤维。

目前并无可靠的科学研究表明吸入化妆品级滑石粉会导致间皮瘤。

矿工和磨工的研究

对数千名因开采和研磨滑石粉而每天接触滑石粉的工人的研究显示,并无工人患上间皮瘤。1976 年,科学家对强生公司使用的一座意大利化妆品级滑石矿的矿工和磨工进行了研究。这项研究将 1921 年至 1950 年间雇佣的工人与附近意大利阿尔巴镇的人口进行了对比。研究并未发现任何间皮瘤案例。

1979 年,科学家使用新的统计数据更新了该研究,并将 1946 年至 1974 年间的矿工和磨工工人与意大利全国人口数据进行了对比。同样未发现矿工和磨工患上间皮瘤的案例。这项研究在 2003 年再次进行了更新,后于 2017 年再一次证明无任何矿工或磨工患上间皮瘤。

在其他化妆品级滑石采矿作业方面,同样对矿工和磨工进行了类似研究。由 NIOSH 和 OSHA 对佛蒙特州的矿工和磨工进行的一项研究得出结论,无任何矿工和磨工患上间皮瘤。对在挪威、奥地利和法国从事化妆品级滑石矿作业的矿工和磨工进行的研究也表明,这类工人当中无人患上间皮瘤。

1,992 名矿工
和磨工

每天与滑石粉接触
超过 38 年的研究

发现 0
间皮瘤

对矿工和磨工的研究

滑石粉被用于减少肺部
积液

在医疗界,一种称为胸膜固定术的医疗程序可帮助将肺粘在胸壁上,以让萎陷肺保持张开或防止肺部积液。

在某些情况下,医生会将滑石粉直接注入肺内层,以防止发生积液。大规模的患者报告显示,在数十年里进行过这项手术的数百名患者中,无任何人患上间皮瘤。

超过
 300 名患者
研究超过
14-40

发现 0
间皮瘤

参考文献

  1. 北美工业矿物协会。“滑石粉是什么。”
    http://www.ima-na.org/?page=what_is_talc
  2. 《地球》杂志。本月矿产资源。
    http://www.earthmagazine.org/article/mineral-resource-month-talc
  3. Geology.com. 滑石粉:最柔软的矿物。
    http://geology.com/minerals/talc.shtml
  4. Gertig,护士健康研究,《国家癌症研究所期刊》,滑石粉使用与卵巢癌质检关系的前瞻性研究。
    http://jnci.oxfordjournals.org/content/92/3/249.full
  5. Gates,《美国流行病学期刊》,按组织学亚型划分的上皮性卵巢癌风险因素。
    http://aje.oxfordjournals.org/content/171/1/45.full
  6. Houghton,妇女健康倡议,《国家癌症研究所期刊》,阴部使用滑石粉与患卵巢癌的风险。
    http://jnci.oxfordjournals.org/content/106/9/dju208.full
  7. Gonzalez,《流行病学》,阴道灌洗、滑石粉使用与患卵巢癌的风险
    https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27327020
  8. Cancer.org. 滑石粉与癌症。
    http://www.cancer.org/cancer/cancercauses/othercarcinogens/athome/talcum-powder-and-cancer
返回顶部
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

The facts on talcum powder safety

The Facts on
Talcum Powder Safety

What is talcum powder?

Talcum powder is the refined, powdery form of the softest mineral on earth: talc. Talc is an “inert” ingredient, meaning it does not generate a chemical reaction when ingested or used on the skin. People have taken advantage of its natural smoothness, safety and adsorbency since ancient Egyptian times.1

Talcum powder

Where does our talc come from?

Talc is found in rock deposits all over the planet and is mined like many other minerals. Only pharmaceutical grade talc is used in our baby powder.

How is talcum powder made?

Once it is taken from the earth, talc is partially crushed, sorted and assigned a grade. The talc ore that meets our standards is then milled to a powder, tested for particle size and confirmed to meet Johnson & Johnson’s purity requirements.

Talc is Safe

Talc Safety Step1

1Talc has been used for centuries.

It’s the softest mineral on earth, and has been used for a variety of applications dating back to ancient Egypt.2

Talc Safety Step2

2Talc is more common than you think.

It’s in the foods we eat, including chewing gum, rice and olive oil, and many products we use every day (like makeup, soap and antiperspirant.)1,2,3

Talc Safety Step3

3Talc is safe.

Research, clinical evidence and nearly 40 years of studies by independent medical experts around the world continue to support the safety of talc.

Talc Safety Step4

4Talc has been studied by independent authorities around the world.

Government and non-governmental agencies, such as the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and Cosmetic Ingredient Review Expert Panel have all investigated the potential harmfulness of talc and determined that talc is safe.

Talc Safety Step5

5Talc does not cause cancer.

The National Cancer Institute’s Physician Data Query Editorial Board concluded that the weight of evidence does not support an association between perineal talc exposure and increased risk of ovarian cancer.

Decades of Safety

We continue to use talc in our products because decades of science have reaffirmed its safety. Your trust in Johnson’s Baby Products and your confidence using them every day is a huge responsibility – that’s why we only use ingredients that are deemed safe to use by the latest science.

Research, clinical evidence and nearly 40 years of studies by medical experts around the world continue to support the safety of cosmetic talc. Health authorities around the world have reviewed the data on talc, and it is used widely across the globe.

Even with talc’s long history of safe use in consumer products, some have questioned whether using talcum powder can increase a person’s risk of developing cancer. Recently, there have been questions raised as to whether the talc used in consumer products is contaminated with asbestos. The weight of the science does not support any claim that our talc products cause cancer.

We take any questions about our product’s safety seriously and as a result have dug deep into the evidence on talc.

Thousands of tests repeatedly confirm that our consumer talc products do not contain asbestos. Our talc comes from ore sources confirmed to meet our stringent specifications. Not only do we and our suppliers routinely test to ensure our talc does not contain asbestos, our talc has also been tested and confirmed to be asbestos-free by a range of independent laboratories and universities, including the FDA, Harvard School of Public Health, and Mount Sinai Hospital.

Johnson Lawsuit

You’ve probably read news stories about lawsuits claiming Johnson’s Baby Powder can cause ovarian cancer or mesothelioma.

Johnson’s uses only pure, pharmaceutical grade talc. We test every lot to ensure it. But don’t take our word for it. Explore the facts and make up your own mind.

Learn More

Explore the Science

Studies on Talc and Ovarian Cancer

The Nurses’ Health Study

The Nurses’ Health Study (NHS) is the largest women’s health study ever conducted. This U.S. government-funded cohort study has looked into risk factors for major chronic diseases in women since 1976. Among many other breakthroughs, research from the NHS helped expose the link between smoking and heart diseases in women, and led to the development of hormonal therapies for breast cancer treatment.

The talc-use portion of the NHS included 78,630 women who were followed for as long as 24 years in total.4,5 They were asked whether they had ever used talcum powder on their genital area or on sanitary napkins. About 40 percent of women answered yes and were included in the talc-user group.4,5

The study data showed no increase in the overall rate of ovarian cancer among the talc users, regardless of how often they used talc. There was no difference in the rate of ovarian cancer among women who used the powder directly on their bodies or on sanitary products.4,5

24 year study
of 78,630 women
31,789 used talc

Showed no
overall increase

in the risk of ovarian cancer

The Nurses Health Study

The Women’s Health Initiative Study

The Women’s Health Initiative (WHI) was established by the U.S. National Institutes of Health in 1991 to study the health of postmenopausal women. Among the many issues this cohort study investigated were the link between hormone therapy and breast cancer, and the effects of diet on cancer and heart disease. The talc-use portion of the WHI included 61,576 women, 53 percent of whom said they have used powder on their genitals, sanitary napkins or diaphragms, some for over 20 years. The women in this study were followed between 1993 and 2012.

The study data showed no increased risk of ovarian cancer in women who used talcum powder. There was also no increase in risk among women who used powder for longer periods of time.6

12 year study
of 61,576 women
32,219 used talc

Showed no
overall increase

in the risk of ovarian cancer

The Women's Health Initiative Study

The Sister Study

The Sister Study, conducted from 2003-2009 with the support of the National Institutes of Health, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences was a landmark research effort to find the causes of breast cancer. The study also included an analysis among participants to investigate associations between talc use, douching and ovarian cancer.

The study enrolled 41,654 women in the United States and Puerto Rico aged 35 to 74 years who had a full or half sister who had been diagnosed with breast cancer and were asked about talc use over the prior 12 months. Over the course of the study, no association was found between perineal talc use and subsequent diagnosis of ovarian cancer.7 While douching was more common among talc users, it was found that douching, but not talc, was associated with the increased risk of ovarian cancer during the Sister Study.7

6 year study
of 41,654 women
5,735 used talc

Showed no
overall increase

in the risk of ovarian cancer

The Sister Study

Other Studies

A statistical association between ovarian cancer and powder users is not found in large, prospective studies, although some, but not all, case-control studies do indicate a slight statistical association. Case-control studies are studies where groups of people with a history of a specific disease are asked questions about different possible risk factors. These risk factors can include use of certain products in their past. One potential reason that some have found slight statistical associations is the potential for an overestimation of the true association due to “recall bias.” Recall bias is when people with a disease are more likely to overestimate their exposure to these risk factors than people without that disease. In these studies, women who know they have ovarian cancer will try hard to remember anything that might be important to explain why they got this terrible disease, which can artificially make it appear that women with cancer used more talcum powder.8

Studies of Talc and Mesothelioma

Mesothelioma is a rare form of cancer, of which there are several types. Asbestos exposure has been linked to certain types of mesothelioma. Asbestos is a naturally-occurring mineral that is found in the environment, and small quantities of its fibers are all around us – in the air we breathe, in drinking water, soil and some foods.

There are no sound scientific studies indicating that inhalation of cosmetic talc causes mesothelioma.

Studies of Miners & Millers

Studies of thousands of people who were exposed to talc on a daily basis—through their work mining and milling talc powder, show that none developed mesothelioma. In 1976, scientists initiated a study of miners and millers of an Italian cosmetic talc mine used by Johnson & Johnson. This study compared those workers employed between 1921 to 1950 to a population from a nearby town of Alba, Italy. That study found zero cases of mesothelioma.

In 1979, the scientists updated the study using new statistical data, and compared the miners and millers who worked between 1946 to 1974 to national Italian population data. Still, zero miners and millers developed mesothelioma. This study was updated again in 2003, then in 2017, and continues to demonstrate that none of the miners or millers developed mesothelioma.

Similar studies of miners and millers have been conducted on other cosmetic talc mining operations. A study of Vermont miners and millers conducted by NIOSH and OSHA concluded that none of the miners and millers developed mesothelioma. Studies of miners and millers who worked in cosmetic talc deposits in Norway, Austria and France also show that none of those talc workers developed mesothelioma.

1,992 miners
and millers

Exposed to talc daily
Studied over  38  years

Found 0 cases of
mesothelioma

Studies of Miners & Millers

Talc is usedto reduce fluid accumulation
in lungs

A medical procedure called pleurodesis helps lungs stick to the chest wall to keep collapsed lungs inflated or prevent fluid from accumulating around the lung.

In some cases, talc is injected directly into the lining of the lungs to prevent fluid accumulation. Large-scale reports of patients show that out of hundreds of patients who had this procedure done over dozens of years, there have been no cases of mesothelioma.

More
than
 300  patients
studied over
14-40  years

Found 0 cases of
mesothelioma

References

  1. Industrial Minerals Association. “What is Talc.”
    http://www.ima-na.org/?page=what_is_talc
  2. EARTH magazine. Mineral Resource of the Month.
    http://www.earthmagazine.org/article/mineral-resource-month-talc
  3. Geology.com. Talc: The Softest Mineral.
    http://geology.com/minerals/talc.shtml
  4. Gertig, Prospective Study of Talc Use and Ovarian Cancer, Journal of the National Cancer Institute, Nurses Health Study.
    http://jnci.oxfordjournals.org/content/92/3/249.full
  5. Gates, Risk Factors for Epithelial Ovarian Cancer by Histologic Subtype, American Journal of Epidemiology.
    http://aje.oxfordjournals.org/content/171/1/45.full
  6. Houghton, Perineal Powder Use and Risk of Ovarian Cancer, Journal of the National Cancer Institute, Women’s Health Initiative.
    http://jnci.oxfordjournals.org/content/106/9/dju208.full
  7. Gonzalez, Douching, Talc Use and Risk of Ovarian Cancer, Epidemiology.
    https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27327020
  8. Cancer.org. Talcum Powder and Cancer.
    http://www.cancer.org/cancer/cancercauses/othercarcinogens/athome/talcum-powder-and-cancer
Back to top